unreal objects, for a change

china pattern book I’ve been updating my website recently, with projects like imaginary tea sets. I try and say it with pictures over at my website, but I’ve been including more non-ceramic work there recently – although these imaginary pattern books are pretty closely linked.
 
Bethesda animationI’ve also added an animation – Bethesda dawn, with Psalm 23. I showed just the dawn in my text and txts post; I’ve now managed to add the words.. I hope to add a second half to the animation, Bethesda Dusk; and a voice over of the Psalm – once I can work out the technology!
 
thorn glaze edgesMany thanks to those who voted for “thorn” or þ as the name for my new work last week. Sadly, the full-scale test stuck to the kiln – you can see in this close up of the glaze and the corner of the porcelain that came away with it. As the pot shrinks (20% for porcelain), the glaze, stronger than the pot, and stuck fast, breaks these pieces off.
 
porcelain potsThe pots are safe, and I have smoothed the white porcelain showing at the bottom, but they are curiosities rather than saleable items!
 
So I though I would offer them to the four of you who commented last week: Emily D, Scrapiana, RGS, Sarah Falla, and JulietMacleod. Send me your postal addresses if you would like one of these usable but slightly faulty pots – as shown in the picture – as a momento! They are about 12cm x 12cm x 12cm. My email is carysdavies(at sign)fastmail.fm. I understand you may be clearing out so not have room!
 
Last – some more images from imaginary tea sets:

3 responses to “unreal objects, for a change

  1. Thank you for the offer of a pot, Carys, which I would love. Who’d have thought there was a reward to be had for chatting on line…Though, obv, do not post! I hope you will persevere with ‘Thorn’ and look forward to seeing some more beautiful examples.

    Like

  2. What an extremely lovely offer! Biting your hand off by way of reply… But I do hope you manage to perfect your method to make saleable items because they are really beautiful, Carys. Address on its way to you. And I will find a fitting way to return the wonderful compliment.

    Like

What do you think?

