spin plates

painter plate I’ve been trying out china painting recently:  a kind of modern revival of the hand painting skills from Stoke and other places.

 

 

studio shelvesMy friend Clare at We Make Here is really great at reviving old techniques in a fresh, interesting way so I went on her Dishy Doodles workshops. She has a great studio in the garden, with lots of inspirational ideas, work and books. I had a really relaxing afternoon there, with good conversation and a delicious tea as well (pistachio cup-cakes with cream cheese topping!). A great treat.

 

printed fabric

printed fabricI really like her lino printing too – as well as cards and pictures, she makes fabric that’s usable – so you can see it and use it every day. It’s particularly creative as it’s using everyday techniques but really inventively.

 

painted dish

painted chinaI took along a few white china dishes I had in the house. One had a raised pattern, which I drew over and painted in, in a kind of free-flowing Quentin Blake style. As usual, this dish which I painted with least effort, came out the best & I look forward to serving up crazy cakes on it!

peckham platformspin painting I’ll be doing more of this at Peckham Platform later in May. Kathrin Bohm of my villages is curating a show of contraptions there, one of which includes spin painting. I’m busy collecting up white china for it – I’m also hoping to make some ‘limited edition’ beakers for the shop.

There are more blog entries about myvillages.org, and more on Claire’s workshop on my website – page down to 30 March 2012. I can’t get you nearer the entry with a link, I’m afraid – it was one of the reasons I started this blog!

mobile view of websiteI’ve been making my website responsive, for the third of you who read this on tablets and mobiles. A lot of new code written, so as a reward I’m considering the Craft Council’s Sonic pattern and the textility of code conference. Knitting and coding – what can go wrong!

2 responses to “spin plates

What do you think?

