christmas knitting, now it’s no secret

I hope you are all recovering from Christmas and the New Year celebrations. I’m getting ready for 2014, planning new ceramics but also perhaps looking for new opportunities.

Escape the City is a great source for information and ideas about working in social enterprise. I’m feeling the need to make myself useful after my time with Grizedale Arts and myvillages, so if you have any ideas please add a comment below!

January’s a good planning month, too: I’ve signed up for this year’s Dulwich Festival Artists’ Open House, as well as an exhibition at NantGarw China Museum – which I’m very excited about.

There’s also some fantastic ceramics courses at the Ashmolean in Oxford: Elspeth Owen, Dylan Bowen, plus Kintsugi – the art of mending cermics with gold.

As promised in the title, I can finally share some of the knitting I’ve been doing – as part of Wovember and of course for Christmas presents, hence the secrecy. Some I didn’t manage to photograph as they were finished too late!

4 responses to “christmas knitting, now it’s no secret

  1. I LOVE getting your posts. Great knitting, you are so talented. My news is

    He applied to Brasenose, stayed at Christchurch, got interviewed there and at Jesus, but has an open offer so when he gets the grades, then he will get allocated a college, which might be anyone of those anyway. He wants to read Philosophy and Psychology. His dyslexia is so bad even the email to tell me was full of howlers, but he is determined, and very motivated. None of his friends in or out of school got in, so we are even more amazed! Coffee after my essay crisis due next week?

    Wendyxx

    >

    Like

  2. Just beautiful, especially the fair isle ones. Wish I could knit. I’m very envious about you learning about Kintsugi. I find it fascinating, and beautiful. Look forward to hearing all about it.

    Like

    • Yes – so am I! I looked for information before I knew the name ‘kintsugi’, because I mended a lot of plates and bowls using resin (araldite, it is resin!) and gold/platinum leaf for Edmund. They looked great too, and a few made it into installations with the mend showing!

      It shows that just having a go works sometimes. I really think that we can learn from the material…

      Like

What do you think?

