good news from nowhere

Come join me for lunch! I’m volunteering at the Architecture Foundation‘s good news from nowhere exhibition, on for the next three weeks, near London Bridge station and where we’ll have soup all ready!

The show celebrates and explores rural, local, useful art: it’s an amazing idea pioneered by MyVillages.org in Europe and Grizedale Arts in England – although of course Ruskin and Morris were there first: even literally, as Ruskin once owned the Grizedale site…

Grizedale ran the celebrated Colosseum of the Consumed at the Frieze Art Fair in 2013, which saw high-art acolytes eating a lamb harvest supper on the last day of the show.

laid hedge in wales

A hedge I laid in the Dysynni valley – by the Talyllyn railway

I’m really looking forward to getting to grips with the ideas behind the show: my problem is too much focus on useful, less on art, probably like many of you reading. Although it’s got me started in imagining how to make a laid hedge into a work of art.. intertwining some text from John Clare, perhaps embroidered in copper wire onto jute so that it lasts about as long as the hedge before re-laying?

There are some great events on as well during the exhibition – free but bookable – I’m especially interested in Halls, Buildings, Public Use as I have spent many weeks staying in Village Halls around the UK while doing conservation work. But Cows, Conservation and Controversy sounds great too.

woolen jumper

Rachael Matthews’ Herdwick Wool jumper

Can I recommend Wovember? There are sheep, fleece, spinners and yarn. Enough that I’ve started looking up how to get my own Hardwick fleece (yes, crazy).

In other news, I’ve been sending more work out for Christmas shows: including a great pop-up in Brighton’s Laines by Kellie Miller, another artist, as well as the Scottish Gallery. I’m really please with how On the Horizon‘s turning out.

3 responses to “good news from nowhere

  1. Pingback: discovery through material | carys davies porcelain·

What do you think?

