narrative from the ferment

image of bookbook cover
What to write when life is kaleidoscopic? In interviews and introductions this week I’ve found it hard to create some quick narrative of who I am – and the same here in the blog for this week.

I’ve been reading Black Swan Green by David Mitchell, and Gibson’s Dali biography– one a fictionalised account of the author’s 80s youth, the other an account of an artist’s creation of a fictionalised self – both more truthful than initially appears, and a kind of awful warning about straying too far into role not reality.

citroen car Blogs are interesting because the point is that I don’t edit the archive, my past writing: in a way you the reader can do that more than I can. Barthes’ Death of the Author makes a lot of sense of this. I love Barthes for his essay on theCitroen D.S..

What do you think?

