curating, culture, identity….

I was intending to show you some other people’s pots this week, but got diverted from becoming an ‘online curator’  into thinking about what’s happening with identity and culture online and off (quite a big subject…).

I’ve recently started getting Harvard Business Review blog daily alerts, which I recommend for anyone working in an office. It let me to a fascinating article about Generation Y’s multiple identities at work (summary: if they could show their tattoos everyone might be more inventive). Wiki has more on Gen Y et al. Baby boomers like me had our multiple identities serially, I think, me being a ‘second lifer’. But I was quite energised by the idea of being allowed to be more than one thing at a time, like Gen Y. I recently got my suits out to interview for an internship at nesta, doing policy and strategy research, and they seem OK with the idea that I will continue to be a potter as well (although it’s early days).  So hurrah and thanks to Gen Y (please pass this on if this is your kids).

In social media, maybe the challenge is to ‘self-curate’ these multiple identities. My favourite on Twitter, for example, is David Millar @millarmind who is concise, pointed, funny, personal; you get a real feeling of his emotional point of view.

Hard to achieve of course, and I can’t post without some images, unrelated other than I made them too….

porcelain with TS Eliot inscribed

“and the lost heart stiffens and rejoices” TS Eliot

porcelain plaque

“in the lost lilac and the lost sea voices” TS Eliot

5 responses to “curating, culture, identity….

  1. Interesting launch pad for an over-the-breakfast table discussion with the hub! I’m slowly coming to terms both with having multiple identities at work and in the ether and it really does take some thought and some managing.

  2. And what wonderful quotations from TSEliot : where from? Looking forward to seeing you at Made if not before…

    • The quotes are from Ash Wednesday VI (‘Because I do not hope to turn again’)

      “And the lost heart stiffens and rejoices
      In the lost lilac and the lost sea voices
      And the weak spirit quickens to rebel
      For the bent golden-rod and the lost sea smell

      Quickens to recover
      The cry of quail and the whirling plover
      And the blind eye creates
      The empty forms between the ivory gates
      And smell renews the salt savour of the sandy earth”

      I’m saving ‘the cry of quail’ for Thomas!
      He’s blooming good, that TS.

  3. This is such an interesting area. I too am a ‘second lifer’, if I understand your meaning correctly. I’ve shifted from working full time in an archive to combining work with my new ‘career’ as a potter. Sometimes it feels like I’m being pulled in two directions, but sometimes it feels like they work together. It’s a tricky balance though. I just spent the day in the workshop, glazing whilst occasionally taking phone calls from the office – not ideal!

    • I know what you mean, although it helps that there’s terrible phone reception and no broadband in my workshop! I’ve recently had a brief time of just doing my own work, which has also been a challenge, getting the pace right, when it’s all about me, and no reason to stop….

What do you think?

