new work on paper

Calligraphy of 'black is the colour' traditional scots song

ink on paper, 600x700mm, carys davies

I’ve been making work on paper this week, for the commission I mentioned earlier. It’s really great to break out of making pots sometimes, much as I love them. This is one of eight, they will appear at some point in the refitted Caledonian Hotel in Edinburgh. The song – But black is the colour of my true love’s hair – mentions the Clyde, so was written in Scotland, but it’s also known in the Appalachians in the USA. It’s been sung by Nina Simone, Joan Baez, The Corrs, among many others. I talked about star light, star bright being somehow available for people to work with and embroider, and I think this song’s the same. It’s a much more intimate connection somehow, it’s not a poem on a pedestal…..
While I had the ink out, I made a big 600x600mm poem for me, it’s Edward Thomas’ Out in the Dark. Not sure how to hang it or frame it yet though…

Edward Thomas poem Out in the Dark written by carys davies

out in the dark by Edward Thomas, ink on paper, 600x600mm

What do you think?

